Home PageClubhouse!

Baseball Analysis  The Baseball Guru Archives

[Previous entry: "Japan Series: The Fighters win it!!!"] [Main Index] [Next entry: "LA New Bears: 2006 Taiwan Series Champion"]

10/31/2006 Archived Entry: "Samsung LIons: 2006 Korean Series Champion"

Samsung LIons: 2006 Korean Series Champion

Samsung LIons: 2006 Korean Series Champion
by Robert Kiyoshi Shadlow

The Samsung Lions beat the Hanwha Eagles in six games for the 2006 Korean Baseball Organization Series Championship on Sunday before a sold out Seoul crowd.

The Lions took game one 4-0; the Eagels won game two 6-2; Samsung picked up game three 4-3 in 12 innings and game four 4-2 in 10 innings; the teams went 15 innings in game five for a tie; and finally the Lions shut the door 3-2 in game six.

Samsung won the Korean Series in 1985, 2002, 2005 and 2006. The Lions are the third team in KBO history to win back to back Korean Series titles. The Haitai Tigers had a four year string from 1986 to 1989; the Tigers again 1996-1997; and the Hyundai Unicorns in 2003 2004.

Source: Kang Seung-woo; The Korea Times; October 29, 2006

HomeGuru's Baseball Book StoreLink to UsBraintrust & Mailing ListsEmail the GuruContact InfoBaseball Analysis Home