Home PageClubhouse!

Baseball Analysis  The Baseball Guru Archives

[Previous entry: "Mexican Pacific League News : New Record set for hits"] [Main Index] [Next entry: "Mexican Pacific League News : Game Results"]

11/30/2005 Archived Entry: "Nicaraguan Professional Baseball League"

Nicaraguan Professional Baseball League
by Robert Kiyoshi Shadlow

Recently I found out about the Nicaraguan Professional Baseball League (Liga Nicaraguense de Beisbol de Profesional). The LNBP was in existence from 1956 to 1967. Some of the stars included Jim Kaat, Doug Rider, Joe Hicks, Bert Campaneris, Mike Cuellar, Marvin Throneberry, Dick Scott, Phil Reagan, Jack Kralick, Jim McManus, Héctor López, Lou Jackson, Carl Emery, Minervino Rojas, Richie Scheinblum, Diego Seguí, and Ferguson Jenkins. This league was restarted for the 2004/2005 winter season.

This year the season started on October 14, 2005 and concludes on January 10, 2006. The all-star game is on December 6th. The final championship series runs from January 13 to 22 for the best four of seven games.

The current standings as of November 30, 2005 are:
W L GB Pct.
Chinandega 21 8 -- .724
San Fernando 14 16 7.5 .467
León 12 17 9.0 .414
Bóer 11 17 9.5 .393

HomeGuru's Baseball Book StoreLink to UsBraintrust & Mailing ListsEmail the GuruContact InfoBaseball Analysis Home